Macroom’s U15 Footballers

home / latest news / Macroom’s U15 Footballers

Macroom’s U15 Footballers

April 15, 2023

Macroom’s U15 footballers travelled to the Glen field in Cork city during the week to take part in this year Feile  competition. We were faced with tough opposition from Crosshaven, Bishopstown and the host’s St Nick’s. 

Our first game was against Crosshaven and they dominated proceedings for the first half to lead by 4 points at halftime. Macroom to their credit got to grips with it and played some very good football to turn the tables and lead by 4 points with about 5 minutes remaining. Unfortunately for our boys Crosshaven got a last ditch goal to level the match right on full time. 

Next up it was the host’s St Nick’s who had a very strong team out on the day and again got off to a better start than our boy’s to lead by 5 points at halftime . Macroom to their credit put in an outstanding second half that anyone would be proud off but try as they might they couldn’t get the goal we needed to level the game up. Macroom will however feel aggrieved here with some very tough calls against them during the game by the referee. 
In the last game Macroom came up against a lively Bishopstown team who on the day had more in the tank after a hard morning’s football than Macroom did.  We have suffered a few injuries during the first 2 games and this made things  harder on the lads against a well drilled Bishopstown team. In the end despite the lads giving all they had we lost out by 3 points. 

Overall a tough day on the pitch for our lads but the lesson’s learnt will hopefully stand to them going forward. Thanks to all involved and to the parents who travelled to sit the lads. 

Scores 1:8 to 2:5 against Crosshaven, St. Nicks 1:7 to 0:4, 1:11 to 3:2 against Bishopstown.

The panel for the games was
Geariod Quinn, Robert Fitzgearld, Ruairi O’Shea, Dylan Lucey, Simon Condon, Eoghan Healy, Conor Nash, Jack O’Shea, Sam Leavy, Darragh Donovan, Billy Murphy, Oisin Phelan, Jayden O’Sullivan, Jack Leavy , Troy Murphy, Tadgh Dunne, Ryan Fernando, Brian Bradley, Caleb O’Conor.
Copyright - Macroom GAA | Powered By: SportLoMo